top of page
  • Laurie Hull

Keep calm and carry-on: What to bring on the flight


I try to only bring the essentials on my carry-on luggage knowing I’ll be lugging the bag around the airports and possibly having to put it under my airline seat if the airline is out of overhead storage room. I usually bring a backpack or daypack – Osprey is my favorite. When planning, I visualize the situation in advance to anticipate my needs. I think through what I’ll need the most and put it in a convenient place in my bag for easy access. It’s very difficult to sort through things in the confined spaces of an airline seat. Seat comfort and space is getting worse on all flights unless you splurge for business class (not there yet).


Here are my essentials:

  • Water bottle to fill once you get through security

  • Hand sanitizer, tissues, bag for trash

  • Neck or back pillow. I usually like the inflatable ones to save space

  • Meds and daily supplements: bring a few days’ worth in case your luggage is delayed

  • Ipad and earbud headphones (you cannot use wireless earbuds)

  • Phone charger

  • Important papers: visas, copy of passport, copies of flight and hotel reservations (I only do this for international travel depending on the country). Vaccine card, COVID test if required.

  • Small snack like protein bar or nuts. Something easy and not messy

  • Earplugs

  • Tennis ball – that’s right. For pressure points on a long flight – like in my back

  • One pair of socks and underwear -just in case luggage is delayed. If you have room add a shirt.

  • Anything of high value like my DSLR camera

  • Socks or booties for on the flight if you take off your shoes – some people have issues with feet swelling. Some people also wear compression socks.

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Dean Koepp
Dean Koepp
Dec 02, 2021

Excellent advice for essential carryon gear! I didn’t know that my new cordless AirPods won’t work on flights?!

Like
bottom of page