top of page
  • Laurie Hull

Autumn to Spring in the same day: Australia and New Zealand reflections

As my journey drew to a close, I found myself wondering if I could readjust to city life. This trip reinforced my deep connection to nature and emphasized the importance of incorporating more of it into my daily life.


Traveling solo reignited my sense of adventure and reminded me of my core values - cherishing both people and nature. It allowed me the freedom to focus solely on the present moment, indulging in whatever caught my interest or stirred my curiosity. In New Zealand, I could easily pull over during drives to capture photos, take a deep breath of the fresh air, and immerse myself in the sounds of nature - the calls of birds, the presence of sheep and cows, the crash of ocean waves. In my hotel, I could unpack, organize for the next day, do laundry, and sort/upload through the countless photos I took.


Make no mistake, much of the time I was not alone. Over the years, I've developed a knack for striking up conversations with strangers, which led to delightful encounters over coffee, meals, and walks. On small group tours, fellow travelers warmly welcomed me into their circle. For instance, I met Sonia from Paris on the Wellington ferry and spent two enjoyable days exploring with her. We never lacked topics for engaging conversations. I also connected with retirees from Normandy, learning about their post-work life, and bonded with a wonderful group from California and Colorado who invited me to join their evening card game of "golf". Meeting people from all walks of life while traveling fills me with hope and positivity. Though part of this openness is due to being on holiday, the genuine warmth of the locals in Australia and New Zealand stood out. Everyone I encountered, from hotel staff to restaurant servers, was incredibly polite, open, and friendly. In Australia, "thank you" seemed to be the phrase of the day, while in New Zealand, even the younger generation took time to engage in conversation without the distraction of devices. Both countries felt exceptionally safe, allowing me to stroll through parks in Sydney at night without worry, though the recent violent stabbing incident there was a tragic exception to the norm.


Reflecting on this incredible journey, the memories that stand out are the dramatic landscapes, the kindness of strangers, unique wildlife, and the lasting impressions that will stay with me forever. Thank you, blog readers, for joining me on this adventure and motivating me to document this unforgettable solo trip. I captured over 6000 photos with my mirrorless camera (yes, you read that right!), and I'll be sharing the best of them on the photo gallery page soon.


 

New Zealand


Mirror Lake Milford Sound, NZ


Milford Sound, NZ


Mount Cook, NZ


Landed on a glacier Mt Cook, NZ


Vineyards of Wanaka, NZ


Rotorua, NZ


Maori Village near Rotorua, NZ


Whitianga, NZ


Coffee with Sylvianr and Robert from Normandy. Whitianga, NZ



Hiking with Sonia from France. Able Tasman, NZ


Kaikoura, NZ


Wine tasting Wanaka, NZ. These were fun locals and we discovered we all have the same word for drinking too much - shitfaced.


Wanaka, NZ


Hiking and kayaking with Sharon and her husband. Monroe Beach, NZ.


Train ride from Greymouth to Christchurch


 

Australia


Opera House Sydney, Australia. Saw La Traviata - fantastic.


Sydney Zoo, Australia


taking a break at one of the many great coffee sops


Great Ocean Road to the Twelve Apostles limestone stacks.


Roaming the streets and bridges of Melbourne, Australia


Tasmanian Devil, Tasmania, Australia. Mean devils.


Hobart Harbor, Tasmania, Australia


Wombat, Tasmania, Australia


Great Barrier Reef, Australia. Near Cairns, Australia.


Great Barrier Reef, video on separate post is better than photos.


Dinner with old friends while in Wiesbaden. Brisbane, Australia. A great way to end my time in Australia.





24 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page