top of page
  • Laurie Hull

In the Bush: Nelson and Abel Tasman National Park


Just a little windy.


I flew to Wellington from Rotorua, spent one night there and went on a night wildlife tour, where I was fortunate to see the elusive nocturnal kiwis (the national bird). The next day, I embarked on a journey by ferry to Picton. From there, I rented a car and drove to Nelson and Abel Tasman National Park.


While on the ferry, I met a very interesting and friendly young woman named Sonia from France. We were both captivated by the burst of warm sun peeking through the clouds, as if we were in morning meditation or prayer. We began talking, and before I knew it, she offered me coffee. Later, I asked if she wanted to ride with me to Nelson and Abel Tasman National Park the next day. She was backpacking and had no plans – quite impressive. So, she joined me on what ended up being a very fun and fascinating couple of days. We talked about a wide variety of topics as I drove the country roads on the way to the park. I love hearing about people's stories, challenges, and dreams. And I was curious about what brought someone like Sonia on a 2 1/2 year travel journey. There is something about travel that brings out a willingness to share deep thoughts and feelings with other travelers. Perhaps it's because it's a somewhat temporary relationship, although I tend to stay in contact with my new acquaintances.  Sonia is an engineer by trade and like many of us at a certain point, felt like she was on a stagnant path and needed a break to regroup. She was inspirational and a joy to be around.


Nelson & Abel Tasman National Park:

We drove through the Marlborough Sounds coastline, passing deserted sandy coves and picturesque bridges. We stopped at the Pelorus Bridge for some forest walks. Despite a little rain, we filled our lungs with quality forest air. The next day, we left early for Abel Tasman National Park and its entry point at Kaiteriteri, where I started my day tour in the park.


A ferry took me up the coast from Kaiteriteri to Tonga Quarry Beach. I was the only one dropped off at this beach to then hike a few hours south to Bark Bay, Medland Beach. I have to say, it was very strange being the only one dropped off at this location. I stood on the beach as I watched the ladder of the ferry pull back, and then the ferry took off, leaving me all alone on this little beach. Wow – freaky. As it turns out, I was ultimately not alone, as I started the trail and occasionally ran into other hikers, some doing a full five days of hiking. The hike was just what I needed, much more difficult than I thought it would be (the first hour was uphill), with rugged and steep, uneven trails intertwined with large tree trunks. I saw waterfalls, heard birds singing, and watched as fantail birds danced around me on the trail, looking for insects from my footsteps. As I passed other hikers and commented on the beauty of the hike, one local lady said, "Yes, it's a stunning piece of bush here." I love the way they talk here.  LOL  I took my time with the hike, taking photos and just listening to the birds. The reward at the end was yet another pristine beach. I lay on a rock and just took it all in, with perfect weather and all senses at ease.


 

Video in progress

Fantail bird

 
 

Pelorus Bridge

 

12 views0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page