top of page
  • Laurie Hull

No Worries in Sydney, Australia



 

"No Worries' is a familiar phrase here in Sydney, similar to 'you're welcome.' After a week in Sydney, Australia, following a luxurious journey from DC with a Business Class upgrade on United's Polaris, it feels like I've traveled acrosss both space and time. Departing on a Saturday and arriving on a Monday, I essentially spent Sunday cocooned within the comforts of a wormhole, indulging in deep sleep and delicious lounge and on-board dining. I feel so spoiled.


Upon touchdown, I intended to dive headfirst into exploring the Botanical Gardens but found myself in a cozy cafe instead, watching a fierce storm rage outside. As lightning struck the Gardens, narrowly missing several visitors but sending them to the hospital unconscious, I found comfort and safety surrounded by the aroma of freshly roasted coffee beans. Reports later revealed up to 75,000 lightning strikes that day—an unexpected turn to my plans.


 

I am here to say that Sydney is an amazing city: it is diverse, exoctic, clean, safe, beautiful and full of vibrant city activities. The people are super friendly and like to chat - hey, I like that too. There are coffee shops on almost every corner, and I'm talking quality coffee. Getting my fix is never a problem. It's a wonderful city to just hang out, especially on the water and by the Opera House, China Town or Darling Harbour. And, there is no shortage of great food, especially Asian food. I had fantastic Malaysian roti canai at the restaurant Mamak, then dim sum the next day at Lotus Dumpling Bar and Vietnamese at Kinhboy Barangaroo. One of the things that stood out the most to me though was being able to walk in the parks at night and feel safe. Something I miss doing back home in the city.


The beaches are fabulous, and I'm not a beach person. So after covering my delicate white skin, I made my way to at least two saltwater swimming pools on the beach. Although freezing cold, it was somehow calming yet invigorating at the same time.


 

I just happened to be here at the same time as the Swifie invasion. Yes, Taylor Swift is here now along with Kelce, and the whole city is buzzing about it. A mural of her just popped up yesterday across the street from the hotel. She went to the zoo twice and was there the same day I was apparently. Sadly the concert did go on last night but after a fierce rain storm and evacuation due to lightning in the area.


 

So many people ask why I am traveling alone. I don't feel alone, to be honest. I take local tours and meet many new people. Those who know me best know that I am a talker and not afraid to meet people and get to know them. I already feel so privileged to meet many new people here in Sydney, some local and others fellow travelers. The young people, in particular, interest me, and I love to hear what matters to them in life. And sometimes, I like to just wander about alone and see what catches my eye. I love taking street photos which means taking the time to let local life play out organiclly. And lastly, I try to listen to my body and slow down when need be. I'm failing at that at the moment - the body is screaming at me from all the walking (average 10 miles a day).


Today I'm off to Melbourne!  I might be greeted with a small cyclone there.  Yeah!

 

Here are some random notes from this week in Sydney:


-Attended "La Traviata" Opera at the Opera House - what a treat


 

-Took a day tour to the Blue Mountains and Three Sisters, and later visited the zoo. Lots of fog and rain, but the sun eventually came out.  The blue tones of the mountains are from the eucalyptus trees.


 

-The city was celebrating Chinese New Year and Pride month, so the city decorated with colorful lanterns and banners

-Public transportation is incredibly efficient here. Just tap your credit card for buses, trains, and ferries.

-Wild white Cockatoos squawking and flying around the city. Steve and I had two of them in Okinawa and frankly, I was not a fan. They were loud and liked to bite me

-more photos of the Opera House



 








43 views4 comments

4 bình luận

Đã xếp hạng 0/5 sao.
Chưa có xếp hạng

Thêm điểm xếp hạng
Kathy L
Kathy L
27 thg 2

Love your pix and narrative! Such a pleasure to follow along on your journey. So glad you’re enjoying yourself! Happy trails!

Thích

loriwelch754
26 thg 2

Very much enjoyed reading about your time in Sydney. Keep happy and safe, dear Bella!

Thích

clkkolig88
26 thg 2

Great pictures. Such a great place. Can’t wait to see the next weeks adventures.

Thích

Lee Hull
Lee Hull
24 thg 2

Wow Laurie,

Really enjoyed reading your narrative and seeing the photos, I feel like I can follow all of your foot prints as you visit the 'Land Down Under'. Very nice!

Thích
bottom of page