top of page
  • Laurie Hull

Rain and Reefs: Exploring the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforests



Finally, my dream of seeing the Great Barrier Reef came true! Equipped with a phone protected case, I captured photos and videos, yet the true beauty is indescribable. I was so moved, tears welled up behind my mask. It also reminded me of some dives I did with Steve in Okinawa where I first saw live coral.  Watching the underwater magical world while bouncing on the ocean's surface, hearing only my breath through the snorkle, was incredibly relaxing and sureal. According to a local reporter, only seven percent of the reef is used for tourism, with rising water temperatures posing the primary threat to the coral. Spanning 2,300 kilometers, this world's largest coral reef system is even visible from space.



 

Cairns, situated far up North on the Queensland Coast, is a hot and humid city drenched in frequent rain, making it the ideal gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. While there, I decided to explore the nearby rainforest area, particularly Kuranda. Ascending the mountain on an old-style train, we made an exciting stop at the roaring Barron Falls. At the summit, amidst the tourist hustle, I completely enjoyed visits to a butterfly sanctuary, the Rainforest National Park, and a wildlife park. The journey concluded with a scenic ride back down on the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, yet the highlight remained the people I met along the way.


Today off to Brisbane for one night.



The wildlife park was one of the best I've see so far on this trip.  The casso-waries traumatized people at lunch as they wander freely on the premises and wanted to enjoy some their delicious food.  However, they apparently can be quite dangerous, so the staff worked hard to keep them at bay.


Friendly Kangaroos


Here are some of the animals at the Park: Cassowary, sleeping Koalas, Crocodiles and a Willoughby


 

Fun fact: Did you know the 🦋 emoji represents the bright blue Papilio ulysses or Blue Emperor butterfly found in Australia?


Butterfly Sanctuary

 

Cairns and its mudflats



Local music complete with an Aboriginal didgeridoo instrument


16 views1 comment

1 Comment

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Dean Koepp
Dean Koepp
Mar 20

Ok, fine…now I want to go to Australia and the Great Barrier Reef…😎

Like
bottom of page