top of page
  • Laurie Hull

Rediscovering Travel: A Journey Through Quebec's French Charms and Enchanting Silent Breakfasts




After enduring seven long months without travel due to my foot surgery in December, I finally felt confident enough to embark on a journey and put my new foot to the test. Quebec City, Canada had always been a destination I yearned to visit, enticed by its French charm and European atmosphere. Little did I know that this city would present me with a unique challenge – an abundance of stairs and steep hills. Nonetheless, I was undeterred and excited to explore.


Based on a friend's recommendation, I chose to stay at the St. Augustine Monastery, which had been founded in 1639 by three French nuns. These remarkable women later established 10 hospitals across Canada and played a pivotal role in shaping the country's healthcare system. The Monastery turned out to be the perfect choice, providing me with meditative walks through its narrow winding streets, an opportunity for self-reflection amidst 380 years of history, tranquil breakfasts (though a bit challenging), yoga (sans the nuns), and wholesome organic food. Perched high on a bluff overlooking the Lawrence River, this walled city exuded charm with its cobblestone streets, cozy bistros, majestic stone churches, and the iconic Chateau Frontenac Hotel towering above the cityscape. With French as the official language of Quebec Province, the European vibe was undeniable, making me feel as if I had crossed the Atlantic.


On my very first day, fate introduced me to Karen, a delightful woman from Delaware, who shared my passion for travel. She, like many other medical professionals, was in Quebec City to rejuvenate and regroup. Our friendship blossomed quickly as we explored all that Quebec City had to offer, from attending a festival in the woods to marveling at the beauty of Montmorency Falls.


One unique aspect of the Monastery experience was the silent breakfasts. Admittedly, I found them a bit awkward during the first two days, especially as I desperately wanted to communicate with my newfound friend and learn more about her. However, with time, Karen and I developed our own form of sign language, enabling us to sit together and share a meal in peaceful silence, gazing thoughtfully into the distance. Surprisingly, this silent practice opened my ears to the surrounding sounds. I discovered a newfound interest in ASMR (autonomous sensory meridian response) finding pleasure in certain stimulating sounds. For instance, the sound of well-toasted bread being buttered became my favorite. This simple sound made me take notice of other delightful noises: the gentle stirring of spoons in coffee or tea, the clinking of utensils against ceramic plates, the rush of coffee pouring into cups at the coffee station – all of which I found amusing and far from bothersome. Throughout my life, I had always been attuned to sounds, sometimes pleasing, sometimes irritating. One memory that stood out was the sound of my footsteps echoing against cobblestones in Germany, harmonizing with the narrow alleys and ancient brick buildings, as if I were part of a movie soundtrack.


All in all, my Quebec City adventure turned out to be an enriching experience filled with fascinating discoveries and delightful encounters. It proved that even after a long hiatus, the joy of travel and exploration could still be as profound as ever.




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page