top of page
  • Laurie Hull

Welcome to "Melbin".  Melbourne, Australia


 

Before I arrive, local headlines had me scared with words like cyclones, catastrophic bushfires, and blistering heat waves, but none of that played out for me in Melbourne, except for one day of extreme heat.


Describing Melbourne proves a challenge, especially in contrast to Sydney. Initially, "scrappy" comes to mind, yet that title requires refinement. Melbourne portrays a college vibe, with its abundance of universities, yet has the stoicism associated with being the capital of Victoria. Downtown offers a mix of Victorian architecture, theaters, museums, eateries, and coffee houses amidst graffiti-laden streets bursting with energy. The locals are incredibly friendly and approachable, and love Americans.  So maybe "eclectic" is a better way to describe the city. On my first day, after a quick Google search on local events, I discovered Pink was performing at Marvel Stadium nearby. Snagging a ticket on StubHub, I finally saw the show I've been wanting to see for years. She did not disappoint. I posted a video of her finale on Instagram and FB.


 

I appreciate how all tours, airlines, and other services first acknowledge the Aboriginal culture and ancestry, recognizing their 40,000-year presence on this land. During a fantastic all-day tour down the Great Ocean Road, Twelve (actually only nine) Apostle Marine National Park, Port Campbell, and Great Otway National Park, I was treated to stunning scenery and the comoradoree of fellow tourists. The area also holds many shipwrecks, adding to the intrigue of the region. It was a memorable day spent with a small group of people, all of whom were enjoyable company.




 

During my five-night stay, I meandered through secret laneways and indulged in local experiences. A walking tour helped me embrace the city's raw charm, revealing former graffiti-clad laneways (alleyways) now transformed into popular hangouts.



 

One aspect I adore about both Sydney and Melbourne is their rich coffee culture. With approximately three coffee shops per block, I found myself in caffeinated heaven, savoring espresso while watching the world go by in this land down under.



 

Met Lisa, a spirited local from Adelaide, during a small group tour of the Great Ocean Road. She shared her love for old American country western music, especially Dolly Parton, and her dream of riding a horse to a local bar in the States. Good luck with that. She has a horse of her own horse back home. At one point she asked about American politics in our van of half Americans - the response "Whoa - no, no politics!" She was a hoot!


 

Enjoyed the musical "Grease" on a scorching 100-degree day—a perfect escape. By the way, Olivia Newton-John was from Melbourne.


 
  • The National Gallery of Victoria's Triennial exhibition left a lasting impression as one of the finest showcases I've encountered of moderan art.

  • Free trollies offer convenient transportation around the city center, adding to Melbourne's charm.

25 views2 comments

2 Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Lee Hull
Lee Hull
Feb 28

Once again, great narrative and beautiful photos Laurie! Sure looks like you're having a great time.

Like

Allan Haensgen
Allan Haensgen
Feb 28

Nice pictures. Looks like fun.

Like
bottom of page