top of page
  • Laurie Hull

Hawaii: Nani, aloha a lokomaikaʻi

I was able to meet with all friends except for three who had COVID. This darn virus is just so dang disruptive. It was going strong here so I hope I don’t bring this special souvenir back with me.


Friends: Some from work, some I met while in Naples, Italy, some I met on a cruise in Vietnam, and my old neighbors who Steve and I hung out with like family. I’m sad to leave them all but content in knowing our connections remain intact and enriched. It warms my heart to once again, experience the incredible warmth and love from these very special people in my life. Aloha is real and I am fortunate to have been touched by it. I hope to take some back with me and apply it to my everyday life. If lucky, I’ll sprinkle it around on the mainland – Lord knows we need it.


Since I was here for two weeks, I had time to savor the local coffee (Alii) each morning, do my physical therapy and hang out in parks and beaches where stillness found me. How often do we really sit still and let life just organically unfold in front of us. OK, don’t laugh. I saw Deepak Chopra in the old Hawaiian Theater the other night. He always gets me thinking bigger, which in turn, dissolves the stupid little things I worry about in life.


I continued exploring more beaches like Diamond Head and Ala Moana, but my favorite is still Kailua Beach. As I floated and played in the rolling waves I observed the soft sand on my feet, the vibrant aqua/teal warm water gently swaying me back and forth, my body relaxed with no pain, beautiful green palms and peaks on the horizon, and the warm sun blanketing me with bliss. This must be heaven!


Although there are slices of heaven on Oahu, Honolulu struggles with drugs, homelessness, and crime. Less than the mainland, but bad all the same. I happen to be staying right downtown Honolulu in an area riddled with homelessness and drugs – next to China Town. It is downright scary, and I was told not to walk outside at night. One morning as I walked to my favorite café a fight broke out right in front of me between drug dealers. The hotel reviews I looked at before booking did not talk about this dangerous neighborhood, so I’ll make sure to make my comments. It is a very nice hotel suite however, but it is not a safe area, forcing me to think about this social issue on a much deeper level only to realize (like most of us) there is no easy answer. During the day, normal business types walk and weave around the homeless like they are invisible. I just keep saying to myself “this is not ok”.


Food scene: I forgot how great the food was here. Although I can find some of the same dishes in DC, the freshness and flavors are nothing like here. Enjoyed manapua, pork hash, bento with shoyu chicken, fresh ahi and sword fish, duck tacos, lichee, papaya, spam musubi, poke bowl (the real thing), mango mochi, etc.


I’m so happy I made this journey. I leave with new memories, happiness, and a renewed trust in humanity. Aloha!




Here is the trail along the Kawainui Marsh Wildlife Sanctuary I used to frequent (right behind our house). A beautiful and relaxing walk with a view of the Ko'olau Mountain Range and Olomano - the mountain Steve and I hiked back in the day. We hiked within 20 feet of the top, which was by rope straight up. Very challenging hike to say the least.


The Cathedral Basilica of Our Lady of Peace on Bishop Street. Church Hawaii style - love the leis on the Virgin Mary.










15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page