top of page
  • Laurie Hull

The Sands of Time


I like the way you can move and mold sand like it’s an adjustable recliner. Just lay on the beach and mold the sand beneath you for ultimate comfort. Indent for the butt, then dig out two divots for foot stops, and a little sand under the back for lumbar support. Nice! Then lay there and feel the soft breeze, listen to the crashing waves and watch the clouds morph into identifiable creatures like playing a game of Pictionary in the sky. Here I am on the beaches of Oahu, Hawaii. Today’s beach is Ka’ena Point.


Although I came to visit friends for a couple of weeks, I have time during the day to go beach hopping, food tasting and visiting old haunts. Steve and I lived in Hawaii for the better part of the 90’s. We visited once since then in 2004, but now after 18 years I’m here again only this time without Steve. Although this is an emotional trip filled with so many beautiful memories, I also knew it would be healing and a hurdle I needed to overcome. As imagined, this trip is both, revisiting the old, and building new.


The old - went to all our favorite beaches and hangouts, but this time I have my personal stamp on the place and a fresh new memory. The slate clear of sadness and open with wonder, excitement and renewal, and yes, an occasional distant memory of a different life. As I visit with friends, I find that time did not stand still. Families have grown, grandchildren spread across the US with families of their own. Some distant friends have passed or are in poor health. The pool deck Steve and I had put in our house now old and overgrown with plants growing out of the cracked grout lines. Time goes on forcing me to reset my expectations. Another disruptive factor is COVID. I am now not able to see a good friend because she and her husband have the virus. I have to cautious with another close friend because her resident grandson has the virus too. Life is messy!


All that being said. I love Hawaii. The people are some of the nicest in the world living true Aloha. The climate perfect and natural beauty beyond what is imaginable. Yes, there is homelessness, drugs, overcrowding, and bad traffic on Oahu, but that slips away the minute you are on the beach or focus on the fragrant soft breeze and perfect climate.






Flowers at Foster Gardens






20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Terri Mock Hyman
Terri Mock Hyman
May 17, 2022

Beautiful words and description of Hawaii and your thoughts. I felt Steve watching and smiling at you. Now I want to go to Hawaii, the water looks amazing.

Like
bottom of page